In front of a very large attendance in splendid sunshine our Seniors defeated local rivals Newtown in the Redfm Senior hurling league today on a very well prepared Ballyhea pitch.This was an eagerly awaited game as the last Senior league meeting between the sides was 12 years ago. Newtown started well with points from Cathal Naughton and a well taken goal from Ryan Clifford to lead 1-3 to 0-2 after 10 minutes, Maurice O'Sullivan and Gavin Morrissey scoring for Ballyhea. Newtown stretched the lead to 6 but Ballyhea stayed in touch and trailed by 4 points at half time 1-10 to 0-9. Ballyhea took over early in the second half with points from Pa O'Callaghan , Neil Ronan and Eugene O'Leary who reacted quickest to Gavin Morrissey's goal bound shot which came back off the post. Micheal Thompson though had Newtown's first score of the second half to go ahead again 1-11 to 0-13 after 41 minutes. Ballyhea remained on top and spurred on by the huge home following, points from Pa O'Callaghan and Gavin Morrissey in the 44th minute put us in the lead for the first time. We led by 2 points entering the last ten minutes and should have been further ahead only for a number of wides. Newtown stuck to their task and Cathal Naughton got in behind the tight marking Ballyhea defence only for Mikey Browne to bring off a fine save with 8 minutes to go. Conor Twomey fired over the resultant 65. Both sides sensed victory now and the crucial next score came to Ballyhea when Daniel Relihan sent over a fine point with two minutes to go. Newtown went in search of a goal but Mikey Browne was again alert to deny Micheal Thompson . Conor Twomey put over another 65 to leave the bare minimum between the sides . Newtown went in search of an equaliser but a number of excellent blocks denied them the chance and when Dean Copps was fouled deep in injury time Pa O'Callaghan pointed the free to give Ballyhea a well deserved victory and bring the curtain down on an entertaining encounter. This was Ballyhea's first victory over Newtown in the senior league since since 1983.
Pa O'Callaghan 0-7 (0-6 fr), Maurice O'Sullivan 0-3, Gavin Morrissey 0-3, Eugene O'Leary 0-3, Neil Ronan 0-2, Daniel Relihan 0-1.
Mikey Browne, Owen O'Sullivan, Micheal Morrissey, Luke Hanley, Timmy Shanahan, Barry Coleman, Trevor O'Sullivan, Dean Copps, Maurice O'Sullivan, Neil Ronan, Pa O'Callaghan, Jonathon McCarthy, John Morrissey, Gavin Morrissey, Eugene O'Leary:
Subs: Daniel Relihan (used), Jonathon O'Sullivan (used), David O'Riordan, T J Garvey, Christopher Hanley, Stephen Dennehy, Eamon Morrissey, Ryan Hanley, Kevin Copps, Liam O'Shea, Shaun Murphy, Mark Crowley, Niall Crowley.

Latest News
Richie Murphy R.I.P
Tuesday, 30 April 2019
Sincere sympathy of the club is extended to the family and relatives of Richie Murphy who died... write me an essay uk
rutgers essay
Tuesday, 23 April 2019
Funeral arrangements for club vice president Tom Crowley RIP: Reposing at Hawe's funeral home... click here
Saturday, 16 March 2019
The senior hurling league game v Newcestown fixed for today is off due to an unplayable pitch.
Match Results
Tuesday, 07 May 2019
Our seniors lost out to Kanturk this evening in Ballyhea where 3 early goals saw the visitors... Read More...
JHL: Ballyhea 2-16 Newtown 0-12 at...
Saturday, 04 May 2019
Our juniors came out on top in Newtown tonight in the league . At half time we led 1-11 to... Read More...
SHC : Ballyhea 1-10 Blackrock 2-27 at...
Saturday, 20 April 2019
Blackrock 2-27 Ballyhea 1-10 Our seniors went under to Blackrock  in the opening round of... Read More...
Fixtures & Events
Club Lotto / County Draw

Connect On Twitter
Follow On Facebook